A hard day’s wanderin’

For those of you haven’t read the poems of Henri Michaux, I recommend getting to it right away. The man has destroyed all notions of poetry I ever had. His works are like hallucinatory experiences-and after reading them you will not remain the same. This little poem I had written out of extreme frustration after reading a lot of his poetry that has deeply influenced me. Sometimes something that inspires you too much also pushes you into a writer’s block. And then slowly you make your way back with the Simones and the Murakamis..

 

“A hard day’s wanderin’ “

I haven’t written anything in a while and maybe

it’s because sugarman told me to look for god in the sewers

or the spit of an old girlfriend stuck to my beard,

when she found me wandering as

the gutter rats were reading me poems from the underground

I felt inconsequential like a black dwarf but

rats have been known to do that to wanderers,

 so I stole the cigarettes stuck to the lips of my passed out friends

and I stole their acid stories

And I stole the angry messages of my woman

but I woke up in a painting, coloured the bluest blue blue’s ever seen

and everything i’d stolen seemed colourless,

 and then i took some photographs of this dead night

before the long walk to the coffee shop,

where the rats said god used to work before recession struck,

I called some deadbeat friends and we talked

about our plans and good sex and this year’s winter,

and when they blasted Simone at midnight,

I knew I’d met her before, maybe in the sewers, so

I swayed too, in between

the bottles of gin, whisky, cheap rum, sweet soda, bleeding feet,

dry lips and sticky hair, till we found a place to rest our heads,

slowly making our way

back to the seedy bar before the seedy bar,

when Murakami taught me how to think again.

I haven’t written anything in a while but before sunrise

after a hard day’s wandering

I’ve been known to quit smoking, find love

and write a book or two.

Image

(Above is an Abstract blue painting by Ad Reinhardt)

 

19 thoughts on “A hard day’s wanderin’

  1. Wow! This is a great piece…love the imagery, the form the words! Now I want to check that poet that inspired me. Sheesh! I just stopped by to say thank you for visiting my blog and I get all these presents…it’s like Christmas without the tacky wrapping paper:) Oliana

  2. Thank you for following my blog. This poem was terrific as it flowed from one mindset to the next. I thought it ironic the path lead to writing a book or two after two difficult moves; finding love and quitting smoking.

  3. I’ve never read the poet that inspired you, but I enjoyed reading what you crafted. Living life is a great way to find inspiration for writing. Especially if the travels are as colorful as in this poem 🙂

  4. What delightful writing, you made it all feel comfortable despite the despair, and I loved the ending. Creativity comes to us in strange ways and in strange places…..but it’s always such a relief 🙂

Leave a Reply

