The last day of summer.

This little piece was written some days ago when a sudden epiphany struck. I was so many different people for so many different people. And perhaps, none of them were who I really was. It’s difficult to be who you truly are in front of so many different people, each expecting you to be someone they should like. But then, as E.E. Cummings once wrote,  ‘To be nobody-but-yourself – in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody else – means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight; and never stop fighting.”

The last day of summer.

I love to run
call me an escapist.
I love to brood
So call me an artist.

I love rings of smoke
Call me a burnout.
and the silence of the night
so Call me a dreamer.

I love the last day of summer
call me depressed.
I took a decision,
So call me queer.

Call me a whore,
if you wish,
If that’s what it takes,
to call me your own.

Sometimes, you just got to walk your walk, like Mr. Ashcroft does, in one of my favorite songs\videos of all times. Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “The last day of summer.

  1. this one is so powerful and is so beautifully knitted with strings of sensitivity and hard facts. enjoyed it very much. enjoy your day! Malene

  2. Some nice abstract concepts and concrete visuals in this one, supertramp. The one line which tripped me up:

    “I took a decision,”
    Why “took” instead of “made”? Just curious. Forgive me for reading things in such a literal manner, or if the critique is unwanted. But it seemed a curious turn of phrase when everything else is so straight forward. In any case, I like this one, and think you nailed it. Props to you for being who you are…it is, indeed, an unending battle, as Mr. Cummings said. (or should that be mr cummings? lol) Perhaps it is so challenging because who we are is always evolving/changing? 🙂

    • thanks for the compliment dragonkatet!

      I wrote this piece in the moment, hence most of the words have come naturally, I suppose I have used ” took ” instead of ” made ” because ” took ” has a certain amount of struggle attached to it. “Making” a decision seems easier, doesn’t it? Taking a decision for me signifies strength, something you’ve fought for.

      Mr. Cummings, if you may. 😀 It is definitely challenging dragonkatet, but I’d like to think we writers, and creative people are huge believers in individuality.

      And thank you so much for the critique, it’s really helpful. I learn every day as a writer from all the comments and feedback I get. So please, keep reading !

      Cheers, much love.
      Supertramp

Leave a Reply

